Entry Guidelines

Architectural Review Emerging Architecture awards

Arena Berlin Nov 15th - 17th 2017

Entry Guidelines


Established in 1999, the AR Emerging Architecture awards support young architects and designers at a key stage in their career, promoting their best work to a worldwide audience. Previous winners have included Shigeru Ban, Rick Joy, Ana Heringer, Sou Fujimoto, Thomas Heatherwick, Neri & Hu, Li Xiaodong and Frida Escobedo.

  • There is a prize fund of £10,000
  • All finalists will receive a complimentary three-day World Architecture Festival delegate pass (Euro 1,325)
  • All entries will be displayed in a permanent gallery on the AR website.  
  • All finalists will present in person to our world-renowned judging panel – Marina Tabassum, Massimiliano Fuksas and Matthias Sauerbruch
  • The presentations will take place (in closed session) in Berlin at the World Architecture Festival (15 to 17 November)
  • All finalist projects will be published in a special edition of The Architectural Review this November – click here to view last year’s issue
  • Awards will be presented at an invited event in central Berlin
  • All finalists will be invited to join the AR editorial team, judges and sponsors at an exclusive eve-of-presentation dinner in Berlin
  • All finalist projects will be exhibited on the AR stand at WAF.
  • All finalists will be invited to make brief presentations on a WAF stage on Friday 17 November
  • AR will make a contribution to finalists’ travel costs based on location




  • Eligibility
    Up-and-coming practices involved in architecture, urban and landscape design whose qualifications are recognised by their local accreditation organisations. Individual practice members must be under the age of 45 in 2017.

  • Completed work
    The AR Emerging Architecture awards celebrate excellence in completed work. Unbuilt or incomplete projects are not eligible for submission.
  • Project type
    We encourage a wide range of design projects: new builds, refurbishments, interiors, furniture, infrastructure, pop-ups, as well as product, urban and landscape design. With no restriction of scale, programme, budget or location, the AR Emerging Architecture awards celebrate – click here to view last year’s 18 finalists.
  • One project per entry 
    You may submit as many entries as you like; each entry should show only ONE project. As there is a new jury, work entered for previous awards may be resubmitted on new boards. Incomplete work, unrealised schemes, projects, CD-ROMS, videos, transparencies, models, prototypes and multiple schemes entered on one board will NOT be accepted.
  • Entry fees
    Entry fee for each project submitted is £280 +VAT. Payment can be made by credit card online or by invoice if the entry total is over £300. Please follow the steps on the website to pay online. Entries will not be accepted without payment.
  • Boards
    Each entry should be designed on two A2 sized boards, to be provided digitally via the entry form, for the AR to print (landscape or portrait format), and must include photography, drawings and a brief written description in English – the location of the submission is helpful to the Jury. Maximum board size is 420 x 594mm (approx. 16.5 x 23.4in).
  • Anonymity
    To ensure anonymity in judging, no names of entrants or collaborating parties may appear on any part of the board. When you register your details online, you will be given a reference number. PLEASE ENSURE THIS REFERENCE NUMBER IS PROVIDED WHEN UPLOADING YOUR BOARDS VIA THE ENTRY FORM. Only after the finalists have been selected will the identity of the winners be revealed.




  • Meet the judges
    Finalists will meet judges, sponsors and AR team members at an eve-of-presentation dinner in Berlin on Wednesday 15 November
  • Live presentation
    Finalists will present their projects in person on Thursday 16 November to judges Marina Tabassum, Massimiliano Fuksas and Matthias Sauerbruch.
  • Awards ceremony
    There will be a drinks reception on the evening of Thursday 16 November at the ANCB The Aedes Metropolitan Laboratory, Berlin, where finalists and the winner will be presented with their certificates and award. 
  • WAF programme
    The AREA winner will be invited to the WAF Gala Dinner on Friday night (where they will be re-presented with their prize in front of 800 architects from around the world).




  • Printed magazine
    Finalists will be published in the November 2017 issue of The Architectural Review and displayed on the AR’s website.
  • Exhibition
    Finalists will be exhibited at the World Architecture Festival on the AR stand. Entries may be used at other exhibitions around the world to promote AREA.
  • Other media
    We will provide information on all winning, highly commended and commended entries to other architectural magazines, newspapers, websites and relevant media worldwide to build international recognition for finalists and the winner.
  • Publishing material
    Additional photography, drawings and complementary information from successful entrants may be requested at the end of September. Entrants will acknowledge that The Architectural Review has the right to reproduce materials in whole or part without payment of copyright (where we are made aware of their names, photographers will be acknowledged).
  • Use of images in promotional material
    The Architectural Review also reserves the right to make use of images of winning projects (both in print and digital media) for editorial and promotional material in connection with the Emerging Architecture awards. For instance, this might include publicising an exhibition (of winning entries), a lecture series (featuring the winning architects), or promoting the Award itself. Use of material in this capacity either in whole or part will not attract payment of copyright. Where we are made aware of their names, photographers will be credited.

By continuing to use the site you agree to our cookies policy. Accept