Entry Guidelines

Nov 28th - 30th 2018 RAI, Amsterdam

Entry criteria


Now in their twentieth year, the AR Emerging Architecture awards support young architects and designers at a key stage in their career, promoting their best work to a worldwide audience. Previous winners have included Shigeru Ban, Rick Joy, Anna Heringer, Sou Fujimoto, Thomas Heatherwick, Neri & Hu, Frida Escobedo, and Avenier Cornejo – while the AR can take no credit for their individual talents, the award galvanised the success of these architects by promoting them on a global stage.

  • There is a prize fund of £10,000
  • All finalist projects will be published in a special edition of The Architectural Review this November – click here to view last year’s issue
  • All finalists will present in person to our world-renowned judging panel. Judges include Spanish architect Ángela García de Paredes of Paredes Pedrosa, Gurjit Singh Matharoo, from Matharoo Associates, India and Ronald Rietveld, from RAAAF, the Netherlands. 
  • The presentations will take place in closed session at RAI Amsterdam during the World Architecture Festival, from 28 to 30 November
  • All finalists will be invited to join the AR editorial team, judges and sponsors at an exclusive eve-of-presentation dinner in Amsterdam
  • Awards will be presented at an invited drinks reception in central Amsterdam
  • All finalist projects will be exhibited on the AR stand at WAF
  • All finalists will be invited to make brief presentations on a WAF stage on Friday 30 November
  • All finalists will receive a complimentary three-day World Architecture Festival delegate pass (Euro 1,325)
  • The AR will make a contribution to finalists’ travel costs based on location



  • Read the entry criteria below
  • Register your details on our online entry portal
  • Submit your entry (3x A3 boards in PDF format 297 x 420 mm approximately - 11.7 x 16.5 in)., without trim lines or bleed, not to exceed 12MB in size) via the entry form. Please ensure you include your booking reference number on all communications. The AR will be printing all entry boards so you do not have to send physical boards to us. To view an example of previous years’ boards, please click here.
  • Submit your payment online.


Standard rate (£299 + VAT)


Up-and-coming practices involved in architecture, urban and landscape design whose qualifications are recognised by their local accreditation organisations. Practice founders must be under the age of 45 on 30 November 2018.

Project types
Rather than focusing on a single, completed building, this year the AR Emerging Architecture awards will recognise excellence in an overall body of work. We still encourage a wide range of design projects: new builds, refurbishments, interiors, furniture, infrastructure, pop-ups, as well as product, urban and landscape design, with no restriction of scale, programme, budget or location.

Portfolio submission

Individuals and practices are invited to submit portfolios comprising three projects:

  • One completed, built project: either a temporary or permanent structure, this project will have been completed after January 2013
  • One work in progress: still on the drawing board or currently on site, this project is due to complete after January 2019
  • One idea: this is your chance to show your broader interests. The idea could be an unsuccessful competition entry, the design of an exhibition or piece of furniture (realised or not), a storyboard, an essay or publication, etc.

Three projects per entry
Each portfolio should show all three projects, with one board per project – multiple schemes entered on one board will not be accepted. Neither will CD-ROMS, videos, transparencies, physical models or prototypes. As there is a new jury, work entered in previous years or for other AR awards may be resubmitted on new boards.

Entry fee
If the work is submitted before 13 July 2018, candidates will pay the early bird entry fee of £199 + VAT. After this date, the fee for each submitted portfolio is £299 + VAT. Payment can be made by credit card online or by invoice if the entry total is over £300. Please follow the steps on the website to pay online. Entries will not be accepted without payment.

Each entry should be designed on three A3 sized boards (one for the completed built project, one for the work in progress, one for the idea) to be provided digitally via the entry form, for the AR to print (landscape or portrait format), and must include photography, drawings and a brief written description in English – the location of the submission is helpful to the jury. Maximum board size is 297 x 420 mm (approx. 11.7 x 16.5 in).

To ensure anonymity in shortlisting, no names of entrants or collaborating parties may appear on any part of the board. When you register your details online, you will be given a reference number. PLEASE ENSURE THIS REFERENCE NUMBER IS PROVIDED WHEN UPLOADING YOUR BOARDS VIA THE ENTRY FORM. Only after the finalists have been selected will the identity of the winners be revealed.


Meet the judges
On Wednesday 28 November, finalists will meet judges, partners and AR team members at an eve-of-presentation dinner in Amsterdam.

Live presentation
On Thursday 29 November, finalists will present their projects in person to the judges. Ángela Garcia de Paredes is currently confirmed for the panel.

Winners announcement
In the evening of 29 November there will be a party in Amsterdam (Venue TBC), where finalists and the winner will be presented with their certificates and award. 

Panel discussions
On Friday 30 November, the winner and all finalists will be invited to present their work to the WAF audience and take part in panel discussions with members of the AR editorial team on Festival Hall Stage.

WAF programme
The AREA winner will be invited to the WAF Gala Dinner on Friday 30 November, where they will be re-presented with their prize in front of 800 architects from around the world.


Printed magazine
Finalists will be published in the November 2018 issue of The Architectural Review, displayed on the AR’s website, and promoted on social channels.

Finalists will be exhibited at the World Architecture Festival on the AR stand. Entries may be used at other exhibitions around the world to promote AREA.

Other media
We will provide information on all winning, highly commended and commended entries to other architectural magazines, newspapers, websites and relevant media worldwide to build international recognition for finalists and the winner.

Publishing material
Additional photography, drawings and complementary information from successful entrants will be requested at the end of September. Entrants will acknowledge that The Architectural Review has the right to reproduce materials in whole or part without payment of copyright. Where we are made aware of their names, photographers will be acknowledged.

Use of images in promotional material
The Architectural Review also reserves the right to make use of images of winning projects, both in print and digital media, for editorial and promotional material in connection with the AR Emerging Architecture awards. For instance, this might include publicising an exhibition (of winning entries), a lecture series (featuring the winning architects), or promoting the awards themselves. Use of material in this capacity either in whole or part will not attract payment of copyright. Where we are made aware of their names, photographers will be credited.


By continuing to use the site you agree to our cookies policy. Accept